Fraud prevention

Stripe Radar vs TrialValid: pricing and fit

Stripe Radar compared with TrialValid: Radar Standard starts at $10 per month, or $0.05 per screened transaction on pay as you go. Checked 2026-10-19.

Last reviewed

Stripe Radar scores and screens payments and, on its top tier, abuse such as free-trial abuse, while TrialValid takes a card hold that deters throwaway signups without scoring anyone. (2026-10-19)

What each one costs

TrialValid Starter is $29 a month for accounts under $10,000 of monthly recurring revenue, starting with a 14-day trial for $1; larger bands follow your revenue: Growth is $95 a month, Scale $295, Pro $595 and Max $995, and Enterprise from $1,995 a month. Stripe Radar: Radar Standard starts at $10 per month, or $0.05 per screened transaction on pay as you go (read 2026-10-19, see the pricing table below).

At a glanceStripe Radar
What it isStripe's fraud prevention product, sold in Standard, Plus and Pro tiers for businesses and a parallel set for platforms, plus a lighter Radar Lite included with standard Stripe payments pricing.
Who it suitsBusinesses that take payments on Stripe and want machine-learning fraud screening, custom rules, manual review and, on Pro, abuse signals.
Starting priceRadar Standard starts at $10 per month, or $0.05 per screened transaction on pay as you go
Free tierRadar Lite adds AI-based card fraud prevention and fraud alerts at no extra charge for businesses on standard Stripe payments pricing.
Date checked2026-10-19

Stripe Radar pricing

PlanPriceBilling basisSource
Radar LiteNo additional chargeFor businesses on standard payments pricingvendor page
Radar Standard (for your business)Starting at $10 per monthIncludes 200 transactions, then $0.05 per additional screened transaction; or pay as you go at $0.05 per screened transaction with no recurring feevendor page
Radar Plus (for your business)Starting at $14 per monthOr pay as you govendor page
Radar Pro (for your business)Starting at $20 per monthOr pay as you govendor page
Radar Standard (platforms and marketplaces)Starting at $20 per monthOr pay as you govendor page
Radar Plus (platforms and marketplaces)Starting at $44 per monthOr pay as you govendor page
Radar Pro (platforms and marketplaces)Starting at $70 per monthOr pay as you govendor page
EnterpriseContact salesCustom pricing and tailored recommendationsvendor page

The Stripe Radar prices above come from stripe.com, read on 2026-10-19. Stripe Radar can change them at any time.

What Stripe Radar is

Stripe's fraud prevention product, sold in Standard, Plus and Pro tiers for businesses and a parallel set for platforms, plus a lighter Radar Lite included with standard Stripe payments pricing.

Feature comparison

CapabilityTrialValidStripe RadarSource
Card hold at sign-up before a trial startsyesnot statednone
Trial subscription created in your own Stripe accountyesnot statednone
Capture before the trial ends with retriesyesnot statednone
Exact agreement text stored with time, IP and terms versionyesnot statednone
Statement descriptor rulesyesnot statednone
Automatic recovery emails after a failed chargenonot statednone
Free-trial abuse signaldifferent approachyessource
Risk scores, custom rules and manual review of paymentsnoyessource

Where TrialValid and Stripe Radar overlap

Both can reduce junk trials, but at different points. Radar looks at payments and, on Pro, at abuse patterns such as free-trial abuse, and lets you write rules. TrialValid asks for a card up front and places a hold before the trial begins, which makes a throwaway signup harder to complete but does not detect fraud or score anyone. A seller can use both: Radar screening the payments that reach Stripe, TrialValid deciding whether a trial starts at all.

When to pick which

Pick Stripe Radar when

  • You need risk scores, custom rules with backtesting or manual review of payments.
  • You want abuse signals such as free-trial, bot, multi-account or account-sharing signals.
  • You run a platform or marketplace and want the platform tiers.

Pick TrialValid when

  • You want every trial to begin with a card that was successfully held.
  • You want the trial subscription and the capture to run in your own Stripe account.
  • You want the buyer wording stored per signup with time, IP and terms version.
  • You want a hold-based deterrent rather than a scoring product.

Sourced facts

FactRead onSource
Radar Standard lists default rules, fraud analytics, card testing prevention, fraud alerts and default allowlists and blocklists.2026-10-19vendor page
Radar Plus adds risk scores from 0 to 99, custom rules with backtesting, manual reviews, risk preferences and adaptive 3D Secure.2026-10-19vendor page
Radar Plus also lists Smart Refunds, an assistant, advanced fraud analytics and agentic insights.2026-10-19vendor page
Radar Pro adds dynamic risk thresholds on top of the Plus features.2026-10-19vendor page
The abuse prevention section lists free trial, bot, multi-account, account sharing and pay-as-you-go signals, all only on Radar Pro.2026-10-19vendor page
For a business, Standard starts at $10 per month, Plus at $14 and Pro at $20, each also available pay as you go.2026-10-19vendor page
For platforms and marketplaces, the starting prices are $20, $44 and $70 per month for Standard, Plus and Pro.2026-10-19vendor page
On pay as you go, Radar Standard for a business is $0.05 per screened transaction with no recurring fee; the monthly subscription at $10 includes 200 transactions and then charges $0.05 per additional screened transaction.2026-10-19vendor page
Radar Lite gives AI-based prevention for card payments and card testing, plus fraud alerts, at no additional charge on standard payments pricing.2026-10-19vendor page
An enterprise route offers custom pricing and access to risk signals, including for payments not processed on Stripe.2026-10-19vendor page
The tiers include signals about fraudulent disputes and early fraud warnings from the card networks.2026-10-19vendor page

Questions

Does a card hold stop fraud?

No. A hold deters throwaway signups because a card must be real and have room for the plan price, but it does not detect or score fraud. Radar is built for scoring.

Which Radar tier covers free-trial abuse?

The pricing page lists a free trial signal only under Radar Pro.

How much does Radar cost?

For a business, Standard starts at $10 per month, Plus at $14 and Pro at $20, or pay as you go. Platforms start at $20, $44 and $70.

Can I use Radar and TrialValid together?

Yes. Radar screens payments that reach Stripe, while TrialValid decides whether a trial begins.

Is there a free option?

The page lists Radar Lite at no additional charge for businesses on standard payments pricing.

What we could not verify

  • What the units are for the per-month starting prices: the page states them without further definition.
  • How Radar treats a card that was held but never charged: the pricing page does not say.
  • Which of the listed signals work on payments not processed on Stripe beyond the enterprise statement.
Spot something wrong or out of date? Write to hello@meralume.com and we will review it.