Billing and merchant of record

Stripe Billing vs TrialValid: pricing and fit

Stripe Billing compared with TrialValid: 0.7% of Billing volume on pay as you go, or from $620 per month on an annual contract paid monthly. Checked 2026-10-19.

Last reviewed

Stripe Billing is the subscription engine inside a Stripe account, and TrialValid runs on top of it by placing the card hold and the trial subscription in that same account. (2026-10-19)

What each one costs

TrialValid Starter is $29 a month for accounts under $10,000 of monthly recurring revenue, starting with a 14-day trial for $1; larger bands follow your revenue: Growth is $95 a month, Scale $295, Pro $595 and Max $995, and Enterprise from $1,995 a month. Stripe Billing: 0.7% of Billing volume on pay as you go, or from $620 per month on an annual contract paid monthly (read 2026-10-19, see the pricing table below).

At a glanceStripe Billing
What it isStripe's subscription billing product: recurring billing, invoicing, automatic reminders, Smart Retries, recovery automations, a customer portal, quotes and subscription schedules, with usage-based billing handled by a related Stripe product.
Who it suitsBusinesses that already take payments with Stripe and want Stripe to run subscriptions, invoices and failed-payment recovery.
Starting price0.7% of Billing volume on pay as you go, or from $620 per month on an annual contract paid monthly
Free tierThe page lists no free plan; the pay-as-you-go option has no recurring fee and charges only on Billing volume.
Date checked2026-10-19

Stripe Billing pricing

PlanPriceBilling basisSource
Pay as you go0.7% of Billing volumeNo recurring fee; counts Billing transactions processed on and off Stripe and excludes one-off invoicesvendor page
Pay monthly, tier 1$620 per monthBilling volume up to $100,000 per month, one-year contract, 0.67% on extra volumevendor page
Pay monthly, tier 2$1,500 per monthBilling volume up to $250,000 per month, one-year contract, 0.67% on extra volumevendor page
Pay monthly, tier 3$2,950 per monthBilling volume up to $500,000 per month, one-year contract, 0.67% on extra volumevendor page
Pay monthly, tier 4$5,750 per monthBilling volume up to $1,000,000 per month, one-year contract, 0.67% on extra volumevendor page
CustomContact salesBilling volume above $1,000,000 per month or unusual business modelsvendor page

The Stripe Billing prices above come from stripe.com, read on 2026-10-19. Stripe Billing can change them at any time.

What Stripe Billing is

Stripe's subscription billing product: recurring billing, invoicing, automatic reminders, Smart Retries, recovery automations, a customer portal, quotes and subscription schedules, with usage-based billing handled by a related Stripe product.

Feature comparison

CapabilityTrialValidStripe BillingSource
Card hold at sign-up before a trial startsyesnot statednone
Trial subscription created in your own Stripe accountyesyessource
Capture before the trial ends with retriesyesdifferent approachsource
Exact agreement text stored with time, IP and terms versionyesnot statednone
Statement descriptor rulesyesnot statednone
Automatic recovery emails after a failed chargenoyessource
Smart Retries of failed paymentsdifferent approachyessource
Free trial that starts without a cardnoyessource

Where TrialValid and Stripe Billing overlap

The two are layers of one setup rather than rivals. TrialValid asks the buyer for a card, holds the plan price, starts a trial subscription inside your Stripe account and captures shortly before the trial ends. After that, the subscription is an ordinary Stripe Billing subscription, so invoices, Smart Retries, the customer portal and recovery automations are Stripe's. If you prefer Stripe's own trial tools alone, you can start trials with or without a card and let Stripe charge at trial end.

When to pick which

Pick Stripe Billing when

  • You want subscriptions, invoices, reminders and retries run by the same company that processes your cards.
  • You are comfortable collecting the card yourself and letting Stripe charge the first invoice at trial end.
  • You want trials that start with no card at all, which Stripe's trial settings support.
  • You need usage-based billing, handled by a related Stripe product.

Pick TrialValid when

  • You want a card checked with a hold before any trial begins, so a card that cannot be held never starts a trial.
  • You want the buyer wording recorded for each signup with time, IP and terms version.
  • You want first-touch attribution and a Slack alert for high-value trials tied to each signup.
  • You want the work done in your own Stripe account without handing TrialValid your money flow.

Sourced facts

FactRead onSource
Pay as you go charges 0.7% of Billing volume with no recurring fees, and the page says it suits low or unpredictable volume.2026-10-19vendor page
The pay-monthly plans are annual subscriptions billed monthly at $620, $1,500, $2,950 and $5,750, each covering a stated volume ceiling.2026-10-19vendor page
Volume above a pay-monthly tier is billed at 0.67%, and volume over $1,000,000 a month gets custom pricing through sales.2026-10-19vendor page
Recurring subscriptions, automatic reminders for missed or overdue payments, Smart Retries and a customer portal are all marked as included in Billing pricing.2026-10-19vendor page
Smart Retries use machine learning to choose when to retry a failed payment.2026-10-19vendor page
Recovery and retention automations are included, with up to three automations such as custom retry policies per customer segment.2026-10-19vendor page
A custom domain for the customer portal costs $10 per month extra.2026-10-19vendor page
Card payments through Stripe Payments are priced separately at 2.9% plus 30 cents per successful charge, and ACH direct debit at 0.8% with a $5.00 cap.2026-10-19vendor page
A free trial can start without a payment method; the subscription then cancels, pauses or invoices when the trial ends, depending on a setting.2026-10-19vendor page
The free-trial guide warns that trials without a payment method can let spammers create many fake customers and subscriptions.2026-10-19vendor page
When a trial ends, Stripe generates an invoice and tries to charge it about an hour later.2026-10-19vendor page
Stripe now recommends trial offers over the older trial_end approach, and trial offers need a recent API version and flexible billing mode.2026-10-19vendor page
A paid trial under trial offers requires an immediate successful payment to begin.2026-10-19vendor page

Questions

Do I still need Stripe Billing if I use TrialValid?

Yes. TrialValid creates the trial subscription in your own Stripe account, so the subscription is billed by Stripe from then on.

How much does Stripe Billing cost?

The pricing page shows 0.7% of Billing volume on pay as you go, or monthly plans from $620 with 0.67% on extra volume. Card payments are priced separately at 2.9% plus 30 cents.

Can Stripe run a trial without a card?

Yes. The free-trial guide describes starting a trial with no payment method and choosing whether the subscription cancels, pauses or invoices at the end.

Does Stripe Billing retry failed payments?

The pricing page lists Smart Retries and recovery automations as included in Billing pricing.

Does Stripe warn about trial abuse?

The free-trial guide notes that trials without a payment method can attract spammers who create fake customers and subscriptions.

Does the 0.7% fee apply to card fees too?

No. The page prices card payments separately from Billing volume.

What we could not verify

  • Whether any Stripe page describes an authorization hold taken before a trial begins: the pages did not mention one.
  • What each Smart Retries attempt schedule looks like: the pricing page names the feature without a schedule.
  • How agreement records or statement descriptors are handled for trials: neither cited page covers them.
Spot something wrong or out of date? Write to hello@meralume.com and we will review it.