Billing and merchant of record

Recurly vs TrialValid: pricing and fit

Recurly compared with TrialValid on starting price, free tier and features. Checked 2026-10-19.

Last reviewed

Recurly is a subscription billing platform with a published Starter price and volume-based higher tiers, while TrialValid only covers the card hold, the trial and the first charge in your own Stripe account. (2026-10-19)

What each one costs

TrialValid Starter is $29 a month for accounts under $10,000 of monthly recurring revenue, starting with a 14-day trial for $1; larger bands follow your revenue: Growth is $95 a month, Scale $295, Pro $595 and Max $995, and Enterprise from $1,995 a month. Recurly: Starter: $249 per month plus 0.9% of billing volume, with the first $40K of monthly billings included at no charge (read 2026-10-19, see the pricing table below).

At a glanceRecurly
What it isA subscription billing platform for direct-to-consumer and recurring revenue businesses, with churn-prevention tools, dunning campaigns, payment gateways, a Shopify product and separate engagement and revenue recognition products.
Who it suitsSubscription businesses that want a billing system with dunning, churn tools and multiple payment gateways, from early stage to high volume.
Starting priceStarter: $249 per month plus 0.9% of billing volume, with the first $40K of monthly billings included at no charge
Free tierThere is no free plan, but the page offers a 90-day free trial of Starter and a free sandbox for All-Access.
Date checked2026-10-19

Recurly pricing

PlanPriceBilling basisSource
Starter$249 per month + 0.9% of billing volumeThe first $40K of billings each month are included at no charge; offered with a 90-day free trialvendor page
All-AccessAs low as under 1% of billing volume, billed annuallyAimed at a $1M billing volume minimum; request pricing detailsvendor page
All-Access for ShopifyAs low as under 1% of billing volume, billed annuallyRequest pricing details; recurring revenue features inside a Shopify storevendor page
EngageAs low as $1,600 per month, billed annuallyBased on prompt volume and capability needsvendor page
RevRecAs low as $850 per month, billed annuallyBased on billing volumevendor page

The Recurly prices above come from recurly.com, read on 2026-10-19. Recurly can change them at any time.

What Recurly is

A subscription billing platform for direct-to-consumer and recurring revenue businesses, with churn-prevention tools, dunning campaigns, payment gateways, a Shopify product and separate engagement and revenue recognition products.

Feature comparison

CapabilityTrialValidRecurlySource
Card hold at sign-up before a trial startsyesnot statednone
Trial subscription created in your own Stripe accountyesnot statednone
Capture before the trial ends with retriesyesnot statednone
Exact agreement text stored with time, IP and terms versionyesnot statednone
Statement descriptor rulesyesnot statednone
First-touch attribution per signupyesnot statednone
Automatic recovery after a failed chargenoyessource
Cancel-save flows and surveysnoyessource

Where TrialValid and Recurly overlap

Recurly runs the billing of a subscription, including invoices, dunning and gateways, and TrialValid only manages the stretch from card hold to first charge. They overlap on payment recovery in a loose way: Recurly lists dunning campaigns, while TrialValid retries the capture before the trial ends and leaves later failures to Stripe. A business that keeps billing in Recurly would use its own trial tools; a business that bills in Stripe would use TrialValid on top.

When to pick which

Pick Recurly when

  • You want a billing platform that includes dunning campaigns and multiple payment gateways.
  • You run a Shopify store and want subscription features inside it.
  • You want a published entry price of $249 per month plus 0.9% of billing volume with a 90-day trial.

Pick TrialValid when

  • Billing already happens in Stripe and you want a card held at sign-up, then captured before the trial closes.
  • You prefer a flat plan tied to connected MRR over a percentage of billing volume.
  • You want each signup to keep the wording shown to the buyer along with time, IP and terms version.
  • You want trials tagged with first-touch attribution and a Slack alert when a high-value one starts.

Sourced facts

FactRead onSource
Starter costs $249 per month plus 0.9% of billing volume.2026-10-19vendor page
The first $40K of billings each month are included at no charge on Starter.2026-10-19vendor page
The Starter plan is offered with a 90-day free trial.2026-10-19vendor page
Starter lists automated global subscription billing, static churn-prevention tools, one dunning campaign, 10+ payment methods and 20+ payment gateways.2026-10-19vendor page
All-Access is described as ready for scale with a $1M billing volume minimum and a rate as low as under 1% of billing volume billed annually.2026-10-19vendor page
All-Access adds multiple dunning campaigns, intelligent churn-prevention tools, payments orchestration across gateways, multicurrency and single sign-on.2026-10-19vendor page
All-Access offers a free sandbox start button and a request-pricing-details button.2026-10-19vendor page
All-Access for Shopify lists cancel-save flows and surveys, prepaid and gift subscriptions and a hosted subscriber portal with passwordless login.2026-10-19vendor page
Engage is priced from $1,600 per month billed annually and lists cancel-save, upsell and cross-sell capabilities with A/B testing.2026-10-19vendor page
RevRec is priced from $850 per month billed annually and lists multi-GAAP compliance and an immutable audit trail.2026-10-19vendor page
The page offers a conversation to build bundled and custom pricing around your volume.2026-10-19vendor page

Questions

How much does Recurly cost?

Starter is $249 per month plus 0.9% of billing volume, with the first $40K of monthly billings included. Higher tiers are quoted.

Does Recurly have a free trial?

The page offers a 90-day free trial of Starter and a free sandbox for All-Access.

Does Recurly include dunning?

Starter lists one dunning campaign and All-Access lists multiple dunning campaigns.

What is the volume minimum for All-Access?

The page describes All-Access as aimed at a $1M billing volume minimum.

Can TrialValid replace Recurly?

No. TrialValid does not run invoicing or dunning campaigns. It handles the card hold, trial and first charge in your Stripe account.

What we could not verify

  • Whether Recurly can hold a card at sign-up before a trial begins: not described on the pricing page.
  • Rates for All-Access, All-Access for Shopify and Engage beyond the stated floor: the page says to request details.
  • Whether Recurly can run trials on top of your own Stripe account: the page does not say.
  • Whether Recurly stores authorization wording, descriptor rules or signup attribution: nothing on the page covers it.
Spot something wrong or out of date? Write to hello@meralume.com and we will review it.