What each one costs
TrialValid Starter is $29 a month for accounts under $10,000 of monthly recurring revenue, starting with a 14-day trial for $1; larger bands follow your revenue: Growth is $95 a month, Scale $295, Pro $595 and Max $995, and Enterprise from $1,995 a month. Chargebee Retention: Chargebee Growth Starter at $0 for Chargebee Billing customers; Growth Enterprise is custom (read 2026-10-19, see the pricing table below).
| At a glance | Chargebee Retention |
|---|---|
| What it is | A cancel experience and retention tool that redirects cancelling subscribers to a personalized page with offers, surveys and alerts, now sold as part of Chargebee Growth. |
| Who it suits | Subscription businesses that want to test cancel offers and see why customers leave. |
| Starting price | Chargebee Growth Starter at $0 for Chargebee Billing customers; Growth Enterprise is custom |
| Free tier | Growth Starter is $0 for Chargebee Billing customers, and the retention page offers a sign-up button and a free trial of Chargebee Growth. |
| Date checked | 2026-10-19 |
Chargebee Retention pricing
| Plan | Price | Billing basis | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Growth: Starter | $0 | Exclusively for Chargebee Billing customers; single-brand businesses with hundreds of subscribers | vendor page |
| Growth: Enterprise | Custom, based on number of active subscribers | Contact sales; adds multi-brand experiments, AI offer builder and trial conversion experiments | vendor page |
The Chargebee Retention prices above come from www.chargebee.com, read on 2026-10-19. Chargebee Retention can change them at any time.
What Chargebee Retention is
A cancel experience and retention tool that redirects cancelling subscribers to a personalized page with offers, surveys and alerts, now sold as part of Chargebee Growth.
Feature comparison
| Capability | TrialValid | Chargebee Retention | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Card hold at sign-up before a trial starts | yes | not stated | none |
| Trial subscription created in your own Stripe account | yes | not stated | none |
| Capture before the trial ends with retries | yes | not stated | none |
| Exact agreement text stored with time, IP and terms version | yes | not stated | none |
| Statement descriptor rules | yes | not stated | none |
| First-touch attribution per signup | yes | not stated | none |
| Slack alert on a customer event | yes | different approach | source |
| Cancel flow with personalized offers and surveys | no | yes | source |
Where TrialValid and Chargebee Retention overlap
These tools sit at opposite ends of a subscription. TrialValid acts before the first charge, holding the card and converting the trial. Chargebee Retention acts when a subscriber presses cancel, sending them to a page with offers, surveys and alerts. The retention page lists Stripe among the billing platforms it connects to, so a Stripe business could use both. Neither one substitutes for the other.
When to pick which
Pick Chargebee Retention when
- Your concern is subscribers who cancel and you want to test offers on the cancel page.
- You want to learn why customers leave through surveys and cancel dashboards.
- You already run Chargebee Billing and want the Growth Starter plan at $0.
Pick TrialValid when
- Your concern is the trial itself: getting a card on file and charging it when the trial ends.
- You want the trial subscription held in your own Stripe account.
- You want a stored record of the agreement text each signup saw.
- You want first-touch attribution per signup and a Slack alert for high-value trials.
Sourced facts
| Fact | Read on | Source |
|---|---|---|
| The retention page states that Chargebee Retention is now part of Chargebee Growth. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| The cancel button sends customers to a personalized cancel experience that presents dynamic offers based on targeting parameters. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| Tests can be randomized, rules-based or machine-learning based, which the page calls Smart Targeting. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| An Experience Manager lets you edit branding, fonts, copy and imagery for the cancel page in a web interface. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| The page says Slack or email alerts can be sent when customers cancel and that save workflows or subscription updates can be triggered when they accept an offer. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| Retention insights are described as dashboards covering why customers cancel and how offers perform. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| The page says it integrates with billing platforms such as Chargebee, Recurly and Stripe. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| The Growth Starter plan costs $0 and lists pricing tables, hosted checkout, a self-serve portal and no-code cancel pages. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| Growth Starter is available exclusively to Chargebee Billing customers and is aimed at single-brand businesses with hundreds of subscribers. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| Growth Enterprise has custom pricing based on active subscribers and lists multi-brand experiments, an AI offer builder and trial conversion experiments. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
| The retention page places retention inside an acquire, expand and retain lifecycle and offers a free trial of Chargebee Growth. | 2026-10-19 | vendor page |
Questions
Is Chargebee Retention still sold on its own?
The retention page says it is now part of Chargebee Growth.
What does Chargebee Retention cost?
The pricing page lists Growth Starter at $0 for Chargebee Billing customers and custom pricing for Growth Enterprise.
Does Chargebee Retention connect to Stripe?
The retention page names Stripe among the billing platforms it integrates with.
Does Chargebee Retention take a card at sign-up?
The retention page describes cancel experiences and does not describe card collection for trials. Trial conversion experiments appear on the Growth Enterprise plan.
Do TrialValid and Chargebee Retention conflict?
No. TrialValid acts before the first charge and Chargebee Retention acts at cancellation.
What we could not verify
- A standalone Chargebee Retention price: the product is now sold inside Chargebee Growth and the pages state no separate figure.
- Whether Growth Starter can be bought without Chargebee Billing: the pricing page says it is exclusively for Billing customers.
- Growth Enterprise pricing: the page says custom and prints no number.
- Anything about card collection or trial billing: the retention page does not cover it.