---
title: "Chargebee Retention vs TrialValid: pricing and fit"
url: "https://trialvalid.com/comparison/chargebee-retention.md"
canonical_url: "https://trialvalid.com/comparison/chargebee-retention"
last_updated: "2026-10-29"
type: "guide"
summary: "Chargebee Retention compared with TrialValid: Chargebee Growth Starter at $0 for Chargebee Billing customers; Growth Enterprise is custom. Checked 2026-10-19."
related: ["https://trialvalid.com/comparison.md", "https://trialvalid.com/pricing.md"]
---

# Chargebee Retention vs TrialValid: pricing and fit

> **For AI agents:** the complete index of TrialValid pages is [llms.txt](https://trialvalid.com/llms.txt). Every page is also served as markdown at its URL plus .md.

Chargebee Retention compared with TrialValid: Chargebee Growth Starter at $0 for Chargebee Billing customers; Growth Enterprise is custom. Checked 2026-10-19.

> Chargebee Retention is a cancel-flow and win-back tool now sold inside Chargebee Growth, while TrialValid works before the first charge, so each covers a different moment. (2026-10-19)

## What each one costs

TrialValid Starter is $29 a month for accounts under $10,000 of monthly recurring revenue, starting with a 14-day trial for $1; larger bands follow your revenue: Growth is $95 a month, Scale $295, Pro $595 and Max $995, and Enterprise from $1,995 a month. Chargebee Retention: Chargebee Growth Starter at $0 for Chargebee Billing customers; Growth Enterprise is custom (read 2026-10-19, see the pricing table below).

| At a glance | Chargebee Retention |
| --- | --- |
| What it is | A cancel experience and retention tool that redirects cancelling subscribers to a personalized page with offers, surveys and alerts, now sold as part of Chargebee Growth. |
| Who it suits | Subscription businesses that want to test cancel offers and see why customers leave. |
| Starting price | Chargebee Growth Starter at $0 for Chargebee Billing customers; Growth Enterprise is custom |
| Free tier | Growth Starter is $0 for Chargebee Billing customers, and the retention page offers a sign-up button and a free trial of Chargebee Growth. |
| Date checked | 2026-10-19 |

## Chargebee Retention pricing

| Plan | Price | Billing basis | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Growth: Starter | $0 | Exclusively for Chargebee Billing customers; single-brand businesses with hundreds of subscribers | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/pricing/) |
| Growth: Enterprise | Custom, based on number of active subscribers | Contact sales; adds multi-brand experiments, AI offer builder and trial conversion experiments | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/pricing/) |

The Chargebee Retention prices above come from www.chargebee.com, read on 2026-10-19. Chargebee Retention can change them at any time.

## What Chargebee Retention is

A cancel experience and retention tool that redirects cancelling subscribers to a personalized page with offers, surveys and alerts, now sold as part of Chargebee Growth.

## Feature comparison

| Capability | TrialValid | Chargebee Retention | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Card hold at sign-up before a trial starts | yes | not stated | none |
| Trial subscription created in your own Stripe account | yes | not stated | none |
| Capture before the trial ends with retries | yes | not stated | none |
| Exact agreement text stored with time, IP and terms version | yes | not stated | none |
| Statement descriptor rules | yes | not stated | none |
| First-touch attribution per signup | yes | not stated | none |
| Slack alert on a customer event | yes | different approach | [source](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |
| Cancel flow with personalized offers and surveys | no | yes | [source](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |

## Where TrialValid and Chargebee Retention overlap

These tools sit at opposite ends of a subscription. TrialValid acts before the first charge, holding the card and converting the trial. Chargebee Retention acts when a subscriber presses cancel, sending them to a page with offers, surveys and alerts. The retention page lists Stripe among the billing platforms it connects to, so a Stripe business could use both. Neither one substitutes for the other.

## When to pick which

### Pick Chargebee Retention when

- Your concern is subscribers who cancel and you want to test offers on the cancel page.
- You want to learn why customers leave through surveys and cancel dashboards.
- You already run Chargebee Billing and want the Growth Starter plan at $0.

### Pick TrialValid when

- Your concern is the trial itself: getting a card on file and charging it when the trial ends.
- You want the trial subscription held in your own Stripe account.
- You want a stored record of the agreement text each signup saw.
- You want first-touch attribution per signup and a Slack alert for high-value trials.

## Sourced facts

| Fact | Read on | Source |
| --- | --- | --- |
| The retention page states that Chargebee Retention is now part of Chargebee Growth. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |
| The cancel button sends customers to a personalized cancel experience that presents dynamic offers based on targeting parameters. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |
| Tests can be randomized, rules-based or machine-learning based, which the page calls Smart Targeting. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |
| An Experience Manager lets you edit branding, fonts, copy and imagery for the cancel page in a web interface. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |
| The page says Slack or email alerts can be sent when customers cancel and that save workflows or subscription updates can be triggered when they accept an offer. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |
| Retention insights are described as dashboards covering why customers cancel and how offers perform. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |
| The page says it integrates with billing platforms such as Chargebee, Recurly and Stripe. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |
| The Growth Starter plan costs $0 and lists pricing tables, hosted checkout, a self-serve portal and no-code cancel pages. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/pricing/) |
| Growth Starter is available exclusively to Chargebee Billing customers and is aimed at single-brand businesses with hundreds of subscribers. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/pricing/) |
| Growth Enterprise has custom pricing based on active subscribers and lists multi-brand experiments, an AI offer builder and trial conversion experiments. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/pricing/) |
| The retention page places retention inside an acquire, expand and retain lifecycle and offers a free trial of Chargebee Growth. | 2026-10-19 | [vendor page](https://www.chargebee.com/growth/retention/) |

## Questions

### Is Chargebee Retention still sold on its own?

The retention page says it is now part of Chargebee Growth.

### What does Chargebee Retention cost?

The pricing page lists Growth Starter at $0 for Chargebee Billing customers and custom pricing for Growth Enterprise.

### Does Chargebee Retention connect to Stripe?

The retention page names Stripe among the billing platforms it integrates with.

### Does Chargebee Retention take a card at sign-up?

The retention page describes cancel experiences and does not describe card collection for trials. Trial conversion experiments appear on the Growth Enterprise plan.

### Do TrialValid and Chargebee Retention conflict?

No. TrialValid acts before the first charge and Chargebee Retention acts at cancellation.

## What we could not verify

- A standalone Chargebee Retention price: the product is now sold inside Chargebee Growth and the pages state no separate figure.
- Whether Growth Starter can be bought without Chargebee Billing: the pricing page says it is exclusively for Billing customers.
- Growth Enterprise pricing: the page says custom and prints no number.
- Anything about card collection or trial billing: the retention page does not cover it.

> Spot something wrong or out of date? Write to hello@meralume.com and we will review it.

## Related

- [TrialValid compared with billing and growth tools](https://trialvalid.com/comparison.md)
- [Plans from $29 with a 14-day trial for $1](https://trialvalid.com/pricing.md)
